CMT to Honor Women Only at Annual 'Arists of the Year' Gala in Nashville

For the first time ever, CMT will honor only women at their annual Artists of the Year gala. The move comes in the wake of many artists voicing their concerns about the lack of recognition and opportunity for women in the country music genre. 

“This year, we’re evolving the special to reflect what’s happening right now in culture and in the lives of our fans,” said Leslie Fram, CMT’s Senior Vice President of Music & Talent. “In this monumental year for women, dedicating one of the biggest nights in the genre to applaud female country artists not only solidifies our commitment, but we hope will spark a much-needed change in the industry.”

The 2018 honorees are Kelsea Ballerini, Miranda Lambert, Maren Morris, Carrie Underwood, Little Big Town’s Karen Fairchild and Kimberly Schlapman; and Lady Antebellum’s Hillary Scott. You can catch the live 90-minute broadcast October 17th at 7PM CST!